analysis? · behaviour · emotions · friends · learning · opinion

What would one really want to hear?

Stuck in an impossible situation….one talking to a friend…what would one really want to hear at that time? We say we want an honest opinion..do we really mean it? We say we don’t want to hear clichés on hope, destiny blah blah….again do we really mean it?
So, what should one say to another in that place? Give an honest opinion…it might hurt the other more…say a cliché, it sounds so artificial…
I have faced this…been given honest opinions which I just wanted to refute but could not as the other person was supposedly lending a supporting shoulder. I guess I would have preferred to just hear clichés from such a person. I also find myself being able to accept honest opinions from some people; but the same from some one else – just irritates me and makes me feel worse at that point of time to be put in that situation to hear those from that person! Don’t know if my previous statement made any sense. 🙂
Should I blame the situation, myself, the other person or what the other person is saying?? I guess it is an art talking to people. One would take ages to master and to some it is just inherent. For some people like me, even the best meaning statements are taken in the wrong sense by some….mabbe it is me, or mabbe it is just that the other person does not like me saying anything at all. As I find those people always mistake me…whatever I say or do. I should learn to ignore those…or just learn what one really wants hear from the other at every single turn…easier said than done 😉

Leave a Reply

