acceptability · friends · learning · life

Age…just never the right age?!

A few of us were talking about age a couple of days back. A friend then said how he as a kid used to think that a person born later than him was older than him. (the year was greater than the year he was born in was his funda! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) He used to then change the year he was born to be “older” than the other it seems! ๐Ÿ™‚

Makes me wonder, how most of us want to be either older or younger. As kids, we cannot wait to be older, come close to thirty; we dread the mid-life crisis or whatever…ย and want to be younger (infact have a few acquaintances who have not gone past 25 for the past 7 years! lol!) ย Why cannot we just enjoy the age we are – after all that definitely comes only once in a life time (definitely! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )ย  I don’t remember if I ever wanted to be older when I was a kid; but I definitely don’t think I ever dreaded growing older or hitting thirty. Even now, surrounded by people quite younger than me, I don’t feel old nor do I want to mask my age!?! Am I the strange one?ย  One thing though; I have been told I am pretty immature most of the time – just old chronologically ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maybe that is why I don’t want to be younger ๐Ÿ˜€

2 thoughts on “Age…just never the right age?!

  1. Well, if someone calls another immature, there is a presumption of maturity on the caller’s part. And will a mature person ever call himself mature?

    There is a Thamizh saying in Hinduism: “Kandaar Vindilar, Vindaar Kandilar”. It means: Those who have seen will not talk, and those who talk have not seen. Can you see what I’m driving at? “The original reference is with reference to people who claim to have seen ‘God’ haven’t, and are false saints, those who have seen the reality won’t talk, and are difficult to spot.”

    The truth is that all of us are immature. But with life’s experiences, we gain a semblance of better understanding. But a recognition that we are immature is the first step towards maturity. And the recognition that we are with highly limited knowledge and grossly ignorant is the first step towards knowledge. And understanding the paradox that is life itself.

Leave a Reply

