life · opinion

Past!?

I read somewhere today that “If your past is still alive, then it’s not past”. I think it was one of those Minekey opinions on facebook?! Well, I would so agree to it as I relate very much at this juncture in my life.

I am being told to move on. Well, I certainly would love to, if P would actually file for the divorce he said he was going to since December last! Don’t know what his problem is; just that it is making things worse for me and a few around me. Wishing it actually becomes my past 🙂

Anyways, on a different note…we had a family aquaintance visit us. He has gone into numerology. Guess what? He was like “Oh your name is wrong!” So, bingo!! found the reason to all my miseries. Not just my name, A’s too!! I was fuming….and he goes, ” Don’t need to change your name, just the spelling, but A’s name is totally wrong!”. That was like adding fuel to fire. I was keeping my mouth shut. To my chagrin, the guy says “Why are you quiet? I am telling all this for your good!”

I have a good friend of mine who said…” they are not horoscopes but horrorscopes“. Well, I have written how sometimes I do believe in astrology; but this numerology thing -crap! Sorry, cannot find a different word in my limited vocabulary!

When the guy went on and on, I finally said that I am neither changing my name nor A’s. I have enough and more legalities and troubles to deal with. I certainly don’t want the added name change formalities! He still ended up saying I was rude!!! Wonder what he would have said if I had shared what I exactly thought about what he was proposing!!??

15 thoughts on “Past!?

  1. Hey, I hope everything works out fine! You seem a bit distressed… Lemme know if you need anything! 🙂
    As for these numerologists and fortune-tellers and palm readers, there’s an experiment I’d like to try out… When they’re busy telling our future and how many husbands and wives and kids we will have, I’d like to slap them really hard, and ask them, “You didn’t see that coming!?” 😀
    That’d be fun! 😀

  2. Nikhil: I was told I was rude the way I responded…GOK what I would be told if I did what you suggested! :)) but it would be nice to actually do it and take a pic of the reaction 😉 And thanks…I hope things work out fine too…been waiting forever now!

  3. I really hope they do! And by the way, taking a pic of the tight slap would be even more fun! And imagine the number of hits you’d get if you post it up! 😀
    Lets do it together! Lets both slap a fortune teller this monday and post the pic up! 😀
    What say? 😀

  4. hey apar….did read ur previous posts…hope you are doing better now…
    coming to the ppl who read …palms..numerology…isn’t it funny that they themselves live a lower middle class life..i mean if by changing our name..we can change our luck…why don’t they do the same for themselves and become rich and successful! ..of-course if you pose this as a question to them..u will be called rude again ;)…wanna risk it 😀

  5. To like it and read it for the fun of it is one thing.. But, i don’t believe in all these ‘advices’..

    Someone I know changed the name, and now, after 6 months figured the new name is not working in his favor either, so, he is going to change it back! & so goes his life.. back and forth!

    You be stern! 😀

  6. Rajitha: Nope…this guy happens to be pretty well off! And had personally changed his name too!! though don’t think the 2 are linked in any way.
    Aparna: Nope…no ways…not changing my name. Like my (our ;)ahem! )name. And A’s well, honestly his name was not my choice but am not for changing it. 🙂

  7. Aparna: well, I could be Aparajitha or something like that 🙂 Boy I could not think of any other name to go with “Apar”!!! 😀

  8. Aparna: 🙂 Well, I am Apu to some, Aps to some,Prapar to one & Apar to most
    Nikhil: Oops!! Sorry…missed in my reply…put it down to old age…do we make it a video post or just a static pic? 😉

  9. & I am also called “Apu!” “Aps” .. also called “Gappu”, coz my name turned out to be very common, so they attached my initial(G) to a nickname (appu).. and some make fun and call me “gabbu” (in tamil, that means stinker).. and “gaps” – strange!

    Bah! Whats in a name?

  10. Aparna (“Gabbu” 😉 ): “What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
    By any other name would smell as sweet;”
    Thanks to Shakespeare 🙂

Leave a Reply

