India · learning · life

Bored!

Today was a bad day considering there was no power at home from 9.30 am till almost 4.30 in the evening!!

Which meant, no TV, no internet! With my son A in not really the pink of health; he falling sick ever so often off-late and the weather Gods also not being so favorable today – going out was also not an option! 😦

So what did we do? We played with his train set, then his building blocks; ended up finishing his homework (4 sheets! πŸ™‚ lol) …then slept!! Thanks to the inverter; we had lights & fan (no TV cos my cable provider had his power cut too!)

Just made me think of the good old days when power cuts happened, no inverters; forced candle-lit dinners, family time or just sitting outside under the stars chatting away with neighbours catching up on gossip. Care-free times? Atleast for me it was πŸ™‚

It also reminded me of the time I had when the NY blackout happened. That made me reminisce of what I just wrote. All neighbours came out, we were talking (no gossips…just talking infact, got introduced for the first time in years!!) I was amazed at how some did not know you could light your gas stove with a match stick!!!! I found out there was a gas station close to my place there which used a good old pump with no electricity. I also found out I was the only one in the area who had a phone hooked up not using electricity! So, quite a few came home to make calls πŸ™‚ Interesting day it was.

Well, may be some day, today might turn interesting. Having spent “quality” time with A πŸ˜€ Though, I think right now, right here; A and I would have liked to do something else (may be not A πŸ˜‰ guess he did enjoy the playtime)

12 thoughts on “Bored!

  1. the ny blackout sounds interesting! who knew it was a great way to get to know your neighbours, huh? πŸ™‚ my place used to get a lot of blackouts, but hardly anymore now. never liked it, i’m always missing my favourite tv shows! 😦

    Yeah the day was interesting at the end of it. Thank God! I am not really hooked on to any TV shows πŸ™‚ else blackouts would be more of a disaster.

  2. Sigh!! We have been having powercuts from 10 am to 6 pm due to some ongoing work. Two days ago it lasted 12 hrs!! But we should be thankful we dont live in U.P. where the power stays for 4-5 hrs in a day and sometimes is gone for 3 days at a stretch in summer. we dont have inverter so we do have candle light dinner and chat sessions when power goes off.

    We had two hourly announced cuts everyday for a while. Do miss the chat sessions though πŸ™‚ esp now that we live in an independent house, flats are more conducive for such sessions πŸ˜€

  3. powercuts make me restless n impatient! esp wen im writing and i havent saved anything and the comp goes off!

    Oh yeah Swats! Been there done that!! πŸ™‚

  4. Yeyy…we dont have power cuts here in chennai !!! and I hope you have more power cuts so that you could spend some ‘quality’ time wid A. πŸ˜€

    Btw, I am blogrolling you!!!

    Thanks Vimal! Welcome here πŸ™‚ I live in Chennai too!! Which part of Chennai are you in that you have no power cuts?!?!

  5. Interesting… There was no power yesterday here too… 10 am to 5 pm… 😦

    And I’m suffering from cold and sore throat too!! πŸ˜€

    Lousy not having power! And the cold would have at least helped you sneeze on your motherboard πŸ˜‰ The sore throat though is a bummer; will be bad with conversations with your Jodha πŸ™‚ Take care & get well.

  6. Ahaaa…trying to find out my addtess,huh?..hehehe….I stay in saligramam; we had one hr power cuts,tht too only for a week. n for the last 3 weeks, thers isnt any. But u kno wht, i go to work at 6 in the evng n come back at 4 am…so donno if thers a powercut during that time…i stay all alone n thers isnt anyone to enquire too….therefore, yeyy,thers no powercut here in chennai πŸ˜€

    Aaha! Oruthar pakkam fan thirupindu, ippo ellorukkum kaathu varuthunu solra kathai mathiri irukku ithu πŸ˜€ (hoping you know tamil πŸ˜‰ ) Thank God for generators in offices I suppose πŸ™‚

  7. LOL, ya, I know tamil very well !!!

    Idu ippadiye vuttaaa ‘nanna’ irukkaadu!!! Let me ask my watchman tomorrow about the power cut timings!!!

    Watchman enna sonnaru?

  8. Hehe…NY blackout sure seems tu have lighted up your life wid friends! πŸ˜‰
    Here in Kerala, we have fixed timings for powercut. Half an hour every evening…so we know…so we know…that every other minute, when the power fails, we know it’s not the standard one! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Sweet post!

    πŸ™‚ Now, I have figured out that everyday here at my place at least the official power cut is between 10 am and 12 noon. btw, that NY blackout was a one day thing and so were the conversations with the neighbours. Everything went back to square 1 πŸ™‚ No friends made.

  9. Oh I find powercuts soooooooooooooo boring!!!! Its strange on how dependent we are on it!!!!

    I cannot imagine how people had survived without power. My grandma says life was way better πŸ™‚ No fights for remote controls πŸ˜‰

  10. I guess we do take electricity for granted, eh? When we have our slotted 1.5 hours off, I slip out of office / home, or read a book, or check out my blog from my phone, or message people, or we sing songs, or we call electricity board! Oh, yeah, sometimes it does occur to me that i could read.. but, trust me, I just don’t have the time! :-p

    It also depends on what time of the day.. At night, i swear if I get up, and if I don’t, well, I get to hear about it the next morning.. πŸ˜€

    You call the board?! To ask/tell what? That there has been a powercut?! πŸ™‚

  11. Yes- in Chennai, power cuts are an integral part of life. Ironic how you compared it to the NYC blackout.

    Well a power cut is a power cut…be it Chennai or NY. That is one more thing I realised in the NY blackout. People came out more to see if power had indeed gone for all πŸ™‚ People are people wherever they are I suppose! πŸ˜€

  12. Hehe! Yeah, we call the EB Board, and after a list of questions like, “which street?”, “when”, and routine others, he tells us, “innu half an hour le vandhirum” ! We call again one hour later..

    It results in frustration & losing all hope in our country, and wonder what progress we have made, at all? But, it does stimulate debate and other creative outlets, and let’s not forget, time pass!

    πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

