behaviour · divorce · emotions · friends · hurt · learning · life · opinion · questions

Blogging & me

Over a few conversations I had with a few friends, I realised how regular I was when I was posting on one particular blog. This blog mostly contains pics of A along with a short write-up all his antics. I stopped posting in that. It has been close to a year now.

I was almost? obsessed with that blog. I used to have a camera with me all the time(or feels like it now πŸ˜‰ ) to capture any and every moment! Was it because of the blogging? Or was it the excitement of being a mother of a growing/learning infant/toddler?! I had (I say “had” since I am still waiting to get a hard disk of all those memories – separation in the modern age! *sigh*) a huge collection of photos; took them almost every day.I think I even took photos just with blog posts in my mind sometimes.

Fast forward to now….I do take a lot of pictures even now. (Confession – not as many as before though! ) but there is not urge to post them or even share them in emails. Initially, when I stopped posting on the blog; many asked me as to why I was not posting, or to send them pictures of A. Those questions and queries have trickled down close to none now. Very few ask to see his photos or urge me to take & share those pictures.

Have I reduced taking pictures as much because I am not blogging? Is it because A is older now (no less cuter if not more- I must add πŸ˜€ ) and is in school almost half the day? Have I become lazy (become? πŸ™„ )? Considering that his life is now getting filled with activities from school also – am I wrong in not sharing these with friends & well wishers? I don’t know; but my gut feel says that I must not continue with that blog any more.

I (being a second kid myself) urge my friends having their second one to do everything they did for their first one including baby showers. Now, I wonder if I have just stopped being me with even my only one?! Is it just because I am not posting anything on that blog?

I see one too many questions! πŸ˜€ Weird! What a separation does to one’s life among so many other things! For those who are wondering what my separation with my husband has to do with me not posting in A’s blog… in a fit of anger, I told my husband that he should stay out of A’s life forever and without a second of hesitation; he accepted. He never once has enquired about A. He had not done so even before that anger fit. According to him; his responsibility as a father ends at sending money. So, my posting recent pics was out of the question in that blog since it was started by both my husband and me! I do not want him to ever see what he has lost out on.

13 thoughts on “Blogging & me

  1. it’s sad that your ex-husband refuses to be part of his son’s life. on a bright side, at least you don’t have to deal with him any longer.

    but you really did sound quite obsessed with that blog. πŸ˜›

    Oh yeah sulz!! I was obsessed with that one πŸ™‚ Sad for him…his loss! And yes! I hope not to deal with him soon…

  2. You can always post the pics on some other blog ..on this one if he doesnt know about it ..;-).. and its a good thing to write and let out steam .. you shouldnt stop .. i know that sounds weird from someone who blogs once a month ..

    Yeah…and one whose blog gets hijacked πŸ˜‰

  3. Its a good thing u stopped that blog as I have read some posts warning about kids photos being misused.
    http: //singlemomseeking.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/is-it-safe-to-post-pics-of-your-kids-online/

    http: //findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4188/is_/ai_n24957510

    http: //urbansemiotic.com/2005/07/13/take-your-children-offline-now/

    Yeah Reema! That is also one of my concerns! Thank you for the links πŸ™‚

  4. I have to confess I have seen the other blog of yours. I dont know how i ended there but blog surfing is totally weird. I recognized it with A’s picture that you posted here once. He is very cute and lovable kid. I understand ur decision to not post any more of A’s photos, though it is sad. I didn’t want to tell u earlier abt that blog as I was not sure.

    Thanks Dinesh! I am still contemplating…decided not to continue there; thinking about another blog πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Apar. Continue taking photos of your little one. As far as posting them on blogs,… do it only if you get some enjoyment out of sharing them,.. not because you are being asked about it. Why not start a new blog for A instead of still using the old one which you and your ex started.

    I do enjoy sharing his childhood. For various reasons, I don’t want P to stumble onto that blog. A private one sounds good to me or a password protected one. Still thinking Spillay!

  6. I guess you should not stop tkaing pics of him..he is cute and best part loves posing :). You can probably laod them on to picas[or other private albums] and invite friends to have a look at it.So that you can choose the ones who can see it…and as reema said kids snaps are being misused too.

    The conclusion: Carry your SLR cam all the time and if you are giving it to techno morons remove the lens cover plz else “The subject gets too dark” Imagine A as a dark subject πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Yeah!! or get one that says…hey! the lens cap is still on!! πŸ˜€ Remove it first before taking pictures you techno moron πŸ˜‰

  7. You should not stop taking A’s picture. If you don’t like posting it on a blog page don’t do it. But it is really good to upload it on to some photo sharing site because hard disk these days are hard to trust. One of my friend lost all his photos and other important data when his hard-disk crashed. And like nautankey rightly said, you can always invite friends when you feel like sharing them.

    I do take pics but not as often as I did earlier. I have backups -flickr,picasa, and hard disk πŸ˜€ Thanks Varun πŸ™‚

  8. You shouldn’t stop clicking your little one’s photo. if you don’t want to upload here, upload it on picasa and send it only to your friends. Its not safe to put pics for public viewing since it can be misused without your knowledge.

    Yeah Manasa! That is one of the factors when I think about posting A’s pics…misuse of the same!

  9. Next time we all meet, I will make sure I get my camera. We are gonna take a lot of pictures of A and for a change yours too πŸ˜‰ Whaaat sayy?

    Sure! Just make it to our next meet…you have missed 2 already πŸ˜€

  10. you could even put it on a blog with restricted access to only those you invite.

    I must admit… my parents took photos of us till we were 4 or so… so you’ll see some pics of my brother till he was 9, and almost none of when he was between 4 and 5 πŸ™‚

    Even when you and I were talking about this on the “long road home” that night before your birthday, I thought of it as your moment of truth. I still do. The wake up call… that defining moment that helps us let go of what we’re holding on to.

    Seriously thinking on those lines only Raaga. I remember the conversation….don’t know if that was the wake up call or when it actually occurred. Mulling over a lot πŸ™‚

  11. I agree with Raaga, you could put the pictures in a password-protected post. You MUST continue taking the pictures! As A gets older you will be very glad you have them!

    I will take pics Muse. I must take more than I am right now; like how I used to when I used to post in that blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

