analysis? · behaviour · emotions · friends · learning · life · love · questions

Balance Sheet – 2008

Taking the cue from Sulz here; I took this up about almost a week after New year’s day. A balance sheet of sorts of the past year.

What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Met a whole bunch of strangers and became friends with them πŸ™‚

Did you keep your New Year resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Did not make any and no have not made any πŸ™‚

Did anyone close to you give birth?
My close friends from school. Seems like a season for girl babies – both had girls.

Did anyone close to you die?
ThankfullyΒ  – No.

What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
Job, love, happiness, peace of mind… long list eh?

W
hat countries did you visit?

None

What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why:
June 10 for the most memorable conversations I have had in my life.
June 25. Well, not ready to say why yet here!

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Staying alive?Β  managing to smile?

What was your biggest failure?
Last year? not finishing what was started…but I don’t know if it was entirely my failure πŸ™‚

Did you suffer illness or injury?
No. Does depression count as illness?

What was the best thing you bought?
My “bike” πŸ™‚

Whose behavior merited celebration?
All my friends who have stood by me and my moods. A for being an exceptional kid! (Guess all mothers would say that about their kids?!)

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Quite a few.

Where did most of your money go?
A’s school πŸ™‚

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
June 25 and the promises offered! πŸ˜€

What song will always remind you of 2008?
Hmm…
The world to changeΒ  by John Mayer (well, at least my tiny world…this song is more for the title I suppose πŸ˜€ )


or
Nobody’s perfect by Miley Cyrus

Compared to this time last year, you are:
Living with no expectations or hope.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Lots ofΒ  things on that list!

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Impulsive actions &Β  whining

How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?
Spent it on the train coming back to Chennai

How would you sum up your 2008 in one word?
Horrible

Did you fall in love in 2008?
Yes.

How many one-night stands?
No way!

What was your favorite TV program?
House MD

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate is a strong word. No….no one.

What was the best book you read?
Unfortunately did not read much last year…mostly fiction if I did. All were to pass time, so don’t really want to rate them!

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Nothing significant.

What did you want and get?
Want & get ?Β  hmmm….

What was your favorite film of this year?
Watched quite a few – liked all. πŸ™‚

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you (optional)?
Nothing much on my birthday. Turned 32

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Tied up all the loose ends?

What kept you sane?
My son A

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Nope – never fancied celebrity/public figures!

What political issue stirred you the most?
Terrorism in India.

Whom did you miss?
Still do….hoping to get a word! and probably will not

Who was the best new person you met?
All my blog friends πŸ˜€

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008:
Do not trust or believe people as easily.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Again have to think about this one…
Maybe Find yourself by Brad Paisley!?

I guess a lot of things did happen and yet did not last year! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Balance Sheet – 2008

  1. Hey this is good… a nice summing up of 2008. And I am also not too crazy about celebrities but Obama’s speech overwhelmed me in 2008.
    Wish you 2009 that brings a lot of cheer.

    Thanks IHM! Wish you a very good year ahead too πŸ™‚

  2. Dont worry, You will have all that you wished for in 2009. All the best !!

    and Im glad that Im one of the best person whom you met in 2008 LOL πŸ˜€

    Thanks Vimal! Of course you are…whose leg can all of us pull together?! and get him to serenade us with nice songs?! πŸ˜€

  3. I agree with Reema! I think the most challenging time is behind you. You obviously put a lot of thought into this. Great retrospective. Well, I’m certainly curious about June 25, now. You’d better tell pretty soon! πŸ™‚

    As I told Reema, I don’t know and don’t hope or expect anything. Will mail you about June 25th…though I can tell you it is also something in the past now or so I have put it in my life!

  4. I liked the title you’ve given to this post. Loved this answer of yours… Compared to this time last year, you are: Living with no expectations or hope. This attitude solves most of the problems in life… Bravo!!

    Thanks Varun! Ideally, theoretically it should solve most problems πŸ™‚ Though there are days those 2 creep in and put me down by failing 😦 Let’s see

  5. Wanna see your bike πŸ™‚

    It is a red Kinetic Sym Flyte πŸ™‚ Both Nikhil and my son keep reminding me it is not a bike πŸ˜€ hence the double quotes! πŸ™‚

  6. Apar, this is on a different note( and bit long too). I was thinking of you after I chanced upon something recently. You said you want a job. I am sure many suggestions,may be including this, have been made. you write so well, you are a good chef (learning from your website and heard from Laksh too) and you are developing a good network of friends even locally( recent post on madras get together) why not become a food critic/reviewer( for food and resturants), freelance food writer for local news papers/magazines( to start with),write a cook book( i know there are 1000s out there, you may be different apar..targeting may be IT public mostly away from home), cooking instructor(there may be cooking schools out there, or some state/private schools offer cooking as elective subject).. i mean to say combine your passion, flair of writing( and good sense of humor and warmth) and use your network ( i sure they are ready to help)..if I sadi too much or crossed the line, just ignore this comment. I will come back for reading your posts anyways..

    Hey Shy! Thanks…don’t know about being a good chef! I try πŸ™‚ No…you are not crossing any lines. You are just concerned and are trying to help me. I am trying to find alternative jobs too! Thanks I did not know I had a sense of humour πŸ™‚ thought I was pretty depressing… I love reading your comments. Please do so πŸ˜€
    shy

  7. Great meme, Apar! Let’s hope 2009 brings much happiness into your life. Take care.

    Thanks BeadDen! Wish you the same for 2009 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

