behaviour · opinion

A rose by any other name…

I resisted writing this post for quite sometime now. Yes, it is a post about retaining your maiden name after marriage. All the posts in the blogosphere, some bordering on the lines of obsession, have got to me! I wonder if  Mr.Dutt is actually enjoying all this publicity albeit negative. After all, it keeps him in the news and people talking, so everyone is aware of his existence!!! Don’t all politicians want to be talked about all the time?! Be he an uneducated, criminal druggie or whatever!

So, adding to all those posts out there, here is one more! Should one take the husband’s name or not after marriage? Why should anyone have a say in that? If at all, it should be the woman’s choice. I have friends who retained their maiden names, friends who have hyphenated their names with their hubbies and those who have gladly changed their names.

Why create a hullabaloo over names?!  People do what is convenient for them or what is required of them in their own lives! None of us have any business asking others to do what we think is right! I had an MCP tell me that I am committing a crime by not having taken my husband’s name. I told him it was my choice, if any one could ever have a say it should be P. The guy persisted with his talks which got me irritated to the point where I told him; well I will change my name if P took my last name. After all, we got married to each other. The guy was aghast! It is just my take on this. I might have changed my name; but did not. As is Tamil custom (P is Tamil), the kid takes up the father’s first name as its last name. So A is AP 🙂 My nurse was amused at all 3 of us having different last names and I had to get into this long explanation of what is what!

Funny thing…P wanted A to have my last name as his! Wish it were that way now…*sigh*. Here I digress!!!

So, I just want to say….forget it!! Stupid politicians with their idiotic opinions! Who bothers? Why should one bother and give it way too much of an importance? Though I am doing it right now. It is not because of some criminal/junkie’s opinion but because I really was getting irritated with all the hoopla/the obsession etc by educated bloggers! Now I am just adding to the irritation of others I suppose 😀 Done my bit 😉

7 thoughts on “A rose by any other name…

  1. Ah , the name game .. me goes with maiden name ..i dont wanna change my name .. period .. even thou my married name sounds cooler ;-).. just use it for publishing stuff

    Too many hassles in changing one’s name actually. Practical to not go through all that! 🙂 Change in your passport, carry an affirmation that your name is now this officially since most of your certs would be in your maiden name! Though yeah your married name does sound cool & short 🙂

  2. You toooo Apar ! Im beginning to hate Mr.Dutt now. The blogosphere is filled with posts on him and this surname issue !

    @ Bhargavi : Dont even make me open my mouth !!! Guhahahhahahahaha !!! (ooops, I just did !)

    You and the rest of the world except possibly voters in his constituency 🙂 Well, as I have written this was result of irritation/frustration!!!

  3. Sanjay Dutt is using the traditions tag just to influence the votebank who he thinks consists of all MCPs

    I did hear the the vote bank consists of quite a few of them to add to my chagrin!

  4. Luckily its not like that here… and its a known fact so people will never ask you whether its ur father’s name or husband’s name… wherever we go or whatever we do… we will be asked for our name as it is written in our birth certificate or identity card… I always write my name as it is…

    I find it funny when people ask me why I dont write my husband’s name (and they are not from here)… I would say… thats how my name is in my birth certificate… so that should be my name right… and why should I change that…

    even if one wants to change… its not so easy… after all those process… the name would still be the same with an alias… and that would look silly… like ABC DEF @ ABC GHI..

    Lucky you Selvi! No controversy! May be we all should adopt this from Singapore 🙂 ABC DEF @ ABC GHI would definitely be silly!!!!

  5. I agree with you that it is a right to keep your own name. I always felt I had already established my identity and didn’t want to give it up. 🙂 And if you marry someone who doesn’t agree, then maybe he is not the right someone to marry. 😉

    Well, I guess the question here is not whether the hubby wants it or not. More like the general society though yeah…if a guy is forceful when we don’t want to, he would not be the guy!! 🙂

  6. I think that it was a cheap publicity stunt.

    Absolutely Amit! He is getting it all everywhere now!! Publicity is publicity be it negative or positive!

Leave a Reply

