analysis? · India · learning · life · questions · spirituality · tradition

Hindu

I have written many a post talking of whether I believe in God or not. About whether there is any reason behind many of the customs we follow (or at least read and commented on many posts on my blog hopping!!) Β I have also read a lot of posts on all this -why must I follow these customs in the name of tradition/religion? What is the meaning behind the way something is being done. Way too many questions.

My mum is not some one who used to say “This is the way it is done so do it.” She was one who used to explain when she knew or she would find the answer. We have had many discussions on lots of such topics. One book that P made me read and said that my mum would like (ok! bring those eye brows down….we have been married close to 8.5 years of which we have been together for 6.5 years of those – so we did have some good talks too!! πŸ™‚ ) was Am I a Hindu? by Ed Vishwanathan. Not a bad read.

Now, my mum is hooked on to something on TV. Initially I did not bother to find out what it was though I know she is not the kind to watch soaps. Slowly I ended up watching the show with her. Obviously the show has something to do with my long winded introduction. I find the show pretty good. It is in tamil by Cho Ramasawamy. Features on Jaya TVΒ Β at 8 pm IST. Name of the program ” Engey Brahmanan” (Where is the Brahmin?)Β 

I find the series very informative. Down to earth. Cho explains various concepts in Hinduism, being a Brahmin and lots more using a story as a baseline. Quotes from various scriptures, explanations in lay person’s terms. So suffice to say I am hooked on too. Feels good to watch something with my mum, followed by discussions (sometimes heated arguments even πŸ˜‰ )

If any of you is interested, do catch it. I know that LakshΒ Β & Ms CP might be interested…. Catch it πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Hindu

  1. Interesting you should write about this. We were talking about this over the weekend and amma was saying the same thing. That I should catch this series if I can.

    I am kinda sure you would like it or at least find it interesting πŸ˜€

  2. Bingo, Apar. I’m now very interested.

    Must say that my folks are hooked to it, but I never bothered to find out more… With your reco, I’m definitely going to start scouting for it πŸ™‚

    Sure!! Check it out! The link in the post is to YouTube for some of the episodes I think. Thanks for the confidence in my reco πŸ˜‰

  3. My dad mentioned about this one too – am sure I will be interested. need to check it out!

    I am sure you would like it too.. I guess saying Laksh & I would be interested kinda makes it that you would be too πŸ˜‰

  4. i have been watching it since day 1. and i love it. that is the only so called serial i watch and do not miss..

    i really like the way everything is being explained there. though many of the stories (mythical)i already knew courtesy my mom. but now i understand them more.

    i wud love to discuss a lot about all of it….

    I am hooked on to it now πŸ™‚ Interesting. And yeah, we have grown up hearing a lot of the stories from parents / grandparents. May be we understand better that we are grown up or is it the way Cho covers it? What ever the reason, I just felt it was one programme that deserved a little plugging πŸ™‚

  5. hey

    Wow, one more person talking about the show.. now, i really must check it out.. grandparents, mom, uncle(s) and aunt(s) are hooked on it.. come 8pm, they are on Jaya TV…

    Let me give it a try today!!

    My mom on the other hand has been one who says – “i was asked to do it, i did and you should also.. dont ask me why what and all!!” [which is probably why i dont do a lot of things]

    πŸ™‚ I know!!! Amma said that for very few things. Nowadays would not listen to those things and she says nothing either out of desperation or out of respect for my individuality πŸ˜‰ Though I must definitely give credit to her for explaining a lot of things that are done when questioned! πŸ™‚ The programme is good. Paaru!

  6. Cool, Need to find if this is available on Youtube. I live in deep interior united states!

    The link I have given are YouTube links. So, enjoy!! you probably should be able to find all of them πŸ˜€ The programme is good with the typical Cho touch

  7. Hey write more about what they say….!

    May be we should write to Cho to make the programme in English so it would have a more widespread audience πŸ™‚ Though will write about some that I learn. Sorry I missed quite a lot already. Maybe a post summarising – will see. Thanks for the idea IHM! πŸ™‚

  8. I’d be interested in a modern discussion of Hindu religious views, but I need an English translation! πŸ™‚

    As I had written to IHM, I probably must request Cho Ramaswamy to make an English version of the programme. Wider audience and we have more material to discuss about πŸ˜‰

  9. I too would like to know more. It’s so hard to learn about everything I want to know more about. Time just doesn’t allow us half of what we need.

    I do hope everything is going well with you, Apar. Take care and sorry for being such a stranger.

    There is a tamil saying BD, which translates to “what you have learnt is equal to the volume of a fistful of sand, what one has not is as huge as the universe!” So, we all have a lot to learn. As I have said earlier, I am truly in awe with you, your talent, patience!! I just wish I had more time to sit and spend over all your posts on your blogs πŸ˜€ So, apologies from me to you as well πŸ™‚

  10. would like to know more abt what they say…. think u can do a post ?

    The show is in Tamil right?

    As I had written earlier, will try consolidate and write a post. And yeah, the show is in Tamil.

  11. everyone i know is hooked on it .. i saw couple of episodes .. i like the part when cho explains stuff ! am not hooked as yet ..

    I like it, though I do end up missing episodes being stuck on Mafia wars πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

