analysis? · behaviour · emotions · friends · learning · life · love · questions

I need my space!!

I don’t know if you have come across people who just have this uncanny ability to be annoying. They are nice people but still have that quality about them. They just suffocate you and make you want to just escape, hide, run away?! You know that they are well meaning but still want to make you scream – “hey leave me alone, I need my space. ”

In the name of being a “friend”, one has to stand the torture of questions like “where are you?” “what are you doing now?” “Why are you not responding?!” and the likes. How can one get the message across saying it is up to us to respond or not without actually hurting the other person? These characters seem to be easily offended, think that we are insulting them just by asserting our space! I have not got the hang of handling this. I also don’t know if I ever would. If any of you out there has the experience, suggestions/advice welcome!! I don’t want to be rude but I don’t want to get bugged like this either!

This also got me thinking, why are people who I want in life not there? 😦 When every incident makes you wonder – if that person were there. Have imaginary conversations wishing them to be real. You wish for that person to be present who knows just when to leave you alone and when to invade your space – just that right balance.

Life is unfair!! As I have said before, God (if you are there!! ) find another target. I am tired of being your punching bag. Now I really deserve a break with some rewards for all the fun you have had so far!!!

28 thoughts on “I need my space!!

  1. I know ! there are quite a lot of people around us who are really annoying the way you mentioned in the post ! and Im one of them who runs around demanding space from everyone 😀 😀 😀

  2. Just have to say. God is there and trust me. These are just passing clouds. Sun will shine soon. You are not his punching bag. He is moulding you so that you be a better and a happier person in life.

  3. My friends ignore me totally and that’s a different kind of annoyance all togeather! 🙂

    BTW you have been tagged on the topic ‘Fast Furious and Danceable songs’ – Do it when you find time.

    Destination Infinity

  4. hmmm…I am the sort of fellow who asks where are you first up…more to do because I don’t want to be disturbing them.. 😛 Of course there are those who are indifferent to everything except what you tell them as well..another irritating esp when you are bubbling to tell something 🙂

  5. So, it sounds like ones you don’t want are there, while ones you do want are not there! You asked for advice; you might try saying to those in your business that you appreciate their interest, but you are feeling introspective at the moment. Also, your post title has worked for me before! I’ve said to people: “I need some space right now!” I’ll tell you about it when I’m finished processing!”
    Don’t know if this helps, but, always I wish you well! 🙂

    1. Well put Muse…exactly I wish people I want are around and those who are bugging me just keep a distance. I am trying hope I get the message across to those who need it 🙂

  6. hmm.. no clue what to do of those types.. wish i knew…. i’d do it right away… 🙂

    Muse some people don’t even understand what introspection is.. for them there is no such thing. u just talk when u feel anything.. good or bad just talk it away… that is how they live.. so they expect the same from us.. which they don’t know is intrusion..

    this is life Apar.. we don’t know anything.. we learn everything… live evrything.. maybe one day if these intruders stop intruding we might miss the intrusion too… feeling being left out.. we never know..

    just don’t lose urself…

  7. Oh! That’s my favourite phrase. And I can tell you, I’ve already screamed that at at least 10 people in the last year!!

    I even posted about it once, but was forced to take it off — that person threatened to take up all my space otherwise! 😦 I hate such people!!!

    1. I was about to ask did it work?! 😀 Guess not!! I don’t hate them, just wish they realise what a pain they are when they do what they do!

  8. wow, i just searched on google for an answer to this very topic and i found ur post! lame to be searching, i kno. but i’m in the exact same situation now with a long-time friend of mine who i feel i am drifting away from. we don’t have the same interests anymore and i can’t stand the ppl she hangs around with. i found myself getting more and more distant and now, after a few months of this, she has been demanding an explanation for my behavior. i have no idea how to go about approaching this without hurting her feelings.

    like someone mentioned above, she is one of those ppl who doesn’t understand the concept of introspection. my explanation will most likely fall on deaf ears unless i spell it out for her – i simply don’t want to be ur friend anymore. sounds harsh, but going from being real close to only casual friends seems like an impossible transition at the moment. i feel like it has to be all or nothing. thats what u have to do with friends who don’t respect ur space IMO.

    1. Welcome here and No babble, it is not lame. You are just desperate to find a way out. You searched, I wrote a post 😀 Same difference!!!
      In your case though, it would just happen. Has for me…from being close to almost casual aquaintances! All the best to you!

  9. I understand, sometimes people want your life history in your IM chat session, right from the time they left off. Just be polite, short and ignore! Do u think God goes around finding targets and punch bags and then rewarding depending on the punches taken? I wonder how much Vadivelu will get in that case 🙂

    1. I don’t know if I want rewards, but I guess at least a break. 🙂 Yeah, poor guy…guess he gets compensated monetarily for all those punches he receives 😉

  10. I have a ‘friend’ who insists on prying out every piece of information she can, on everyone, and everything. I really feel sad for such people. They are mentally unstable and can have no peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

