analysis? · India · opinion · tradition

Republic Day 2010

Vande Mataram!

Woke up to watching the news featuring the new “Mile Sur Mera Tum hara” rather named “Phir Mile sur”

Check it out here

The older version or the original is here

I like both the versions. The previous one was simple, melodious while the newer one has more variety musically. Though both videos I think capture India.

As I was doing this, I read through some of the feedback on the new version. I see comments on how the new version has a “western” feel, about the clothes worn by an actress & how she must have worn more!!!!! The absence of people like Lata Mangeshkar who was there in the original. Is it just me?! Or do others also think these are harsh.Β  I suppose it is the same comfort zone factor. I don’t want to step out of what I am used to!! feeling?! Personally I felt that the new version depicted for want of a better phrase the “new” India – a blend of the old & new. I suppose the video link above does not the have the complete version of the song as I did see certain others featured in the news item on NDTV. On the same note, reading about the controversies surrounding the awards given out today also bugs me though I guess it is the same with any honour awards that are given out in any country! πŸ™‚ Guess any one can get awards if people get a Nobel award just for intention!!!

Just wanted to add a note that it was a pleasant surprise that one of the tamil channels was not all cinema & cinema based special programmes today!! It is now telecasting a recorded show byΒ  Taiwanese physically challenged artists. Amazing!!!

So typing this in as I switch between watching the Republic day parade & the dance/music show. πŸ™‚ Waiting for “Beating the retreat”. Something I loved watching every year growing up πŸ˜€

Jai Hind!

Edit to add the complete video of Phir Mile Sur

I read more comments about how the video is more Bollywood than to show integrity. I just see the video as I would any other remix πŸ™‚ I never ever thought that a remix(even a remake for that matter) ever matches the original. The point here is that intention is to sell India and Bollywood sells! I has more Bombay shots, less of all of India or cricket, not all the stars featured in the old video, many new ones here ! – so what?! Well, Β as I said before my take! Why not just take this as it is and not compare?! Or like I generally deal with remixes let it grow on you πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Republic Day 2010

    1. I read your review. Honestly Deepika & Ranbir are actors. They act! πŸ™‚ About cricket stars not being featured – I am cool with that! As I said I love the old one, but have nothing against the new one -but that is me πŸ˜€

    1. I like the old one too Reema! Though as I told Nova, I have nothing against the new one. I have no problems seeing an actress wearing a short dress. I don’t want to condemn it saying it is not Indian enough. As I said it is probably just me πŸ™‚ Tired of being tied down by what is perceived as India. To me, India in its essence cannot be covered in such a short video. If that has to be done….it is so diverse, from the age old traditional thing to the modern India that is kinda even more diverse I must say. Just trying to say here that the videos are out there, up for criticism. So, each to one’s own. I like variety and I like both πŸ˜€

  1. Nice Video!
    Yes, these video are taking so much time to load.
    Well, India is one of my favourite tourist destinations.
    I have heard a lot about this country from my friends.
    I and Alan are planning to book our holiday package with the help of southalltravel.co.uk to explore the heritage sites and incredible beauty of India.
    Hopefully, we will be there in the month of July.
    Vande Mataram!

Leave a Reply

