analysis? · behaviour · emotions · learning · life · opinion

Point of Opinion

This morning, I was struck wondering; are you right if you make more noise? The louder you are, the more forceful you are; you are right. Off late, I have been thinking that this is becoming a norm everywhere.

You are wrong , I am right. I don’t care to listen to what you have to say. I call a brown cow as purple; I am right!

This is the attitude that I have been facing off late. Usually I am a person who will argue her lungs out till the actual right thing is accepted on. Now though, after voicing dissent once or sometimes twice, I just keep quiet. I don’t necessarily agree, I don’t pursue the argument. Is this me being wiser?!?! ooh! I like that ๐Ÿ˜€ No..don’t think so. I guess I just am tired of arguing/making things clearer. I am proud to be Indian but I also am pragmatic in saying that we are not as a race that clean! I missed by a mere whisker being spat on this morning on my ride to work. God knows what diseases that guy hasย  that he spreads this way apart from the fact that I would feel yucky. I would never dream of going into a public toilet here in India. No way Jose!! It is a nightmare calling customer service here (I am sure that many have written & rated on this particular topic!) It just amazes me when it is just taken all in stride in my country. Worse is when someone points these out as they are, I find people actually defend it!!! I mean something that is wrong in the name of being loyal to the country?! Is it not more loyal to set things right and project a good image? Just because someone who visits our country follows what citizens do even if it is wrong does not mean we are right…is it?!ย  We drive wrong and those who come here… get the attitude “If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!” and become impossible drivers. Does that make ourย  driving good?!?! Come on!!! Wake up!!

I suppose I am writing down what I wanted to say (not so loudly ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) yet trying to make a point here! Don’t know how far the point is being made! Pure co-incidence, while I opened wordpress to write this post, came across this on the home page! http://intelligentchallenge.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/you-are-wrong-i-am-right/. Interesting intelligent read ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Point of Opinion

  1. You’re so right!
    Sometimes, it’s just NOT worth arguing and losing to losers (people with a bad attitude, i mean)!

    It’s much better if we just do our thing, be “right” in the true sense of the word and set a teeny weeny example!

    1. It frustrates me sometimes that whatever we do, it really does not make any impact!! Though it is helping me keep my peace by not arguing ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thanks for the link – sounds like we were both thinking similar thoughts.

    ps I’ve been to India a few times (and like it very much) but I’ve not been to a public toilet – sounds like an experience I should miss!

    1. You are welcome! Well, not to put this country down, but yeah please keep away from public toilets is definitely a good thing to follow! ๐Ÿ˜€ apart from many other things.

  3. Among all the lovely things we have in our country, this is something that DOES NOT seem to go away ever- spitting, peeing, and wot not…. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    and yes, i too find that a lot of people think if they speak LOUD they become right… bah!! if only they could hear themselves… am sure they wud beat themselves to pulp….

  4. Very interesting post, Apar. I know you have spent time in my country, so have that experience to compare. I like my country too, but I, like you, will point out things I see that could use improvement. I have a lot of respect for India and the spirit of the people there. They are lucky to have people like you who are not afraid to call them as she sees them! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

