behaviour · emotions · friends · hurt · learning · life

Off Facebook

I know I have not blogged since around Christmas last year. So I must say I have been off blogging and off Facebook. The latter since October last year. It started off with lots of thoughts running in my mind as usual πŸ™‚ Wondering why I must be on a social networking site where I really was not interested in reading mundane status updates & I didn’t have much to actually do status updates. I had also brought down photos of A from the site much earlier (rather increased privacy options for those albums). Then came a challenge from a good friend saying I could not stay off the internet at all. I deactivated my Facebook account then. Many didn’t realise I was off the site now. Some turned around and asked where I was and whether I had taken them off my list :). I get the “oh! you must have read that on Facebook” and when I say “Am off Facebook”, I am received with a gamut of reactions from why to what is wrong with you?!

I can honestly say I do not miss Facebook after nearly 6 months of not being on it. I had no withdrawal symptoms! πŸ™‚ I still am on Twitter,LinkedIn, come online (mostly invisible) on gtalk or yahoo chat. I read my mails regularly – though the actual personal mails I receive average probably at 1 or 2 a week!! πŸ™‚ Am not doing much here at my popularity rating am I?!

The last few months have actually made me wonder about friendship & evaluation of the same. Was laughing at the fact that some felt offended that I probably had taken them off my friends’ list to being touched by some’s concern that I had gone bonkers to be offline. LOL!! πŸ™‚ I was asked if I was surprised that some did not even notice my absence, I said not at all to them… after all each of us have 100s in our list, how would one know if someone went missing unless you interact with them on a daily basis?!

Started wondering how much we give importance to being “friends” on Facebook. Is that being a friend? May be I am old fashioned. To me, a friend is one who will stand by me, through all my stupid emotions (ping ponging as someone recently said); some one who I can call and share a joke or my pains whatever the case might be then. I will do that to anyone who I call a friend. I will not evaluate friendship (yes heard that too!! ) Alright, I digress here though not entirely. Guess I am trying to say that the value of friendship is somehow lost somewhere or so I feel. I am glad that I still have some friends who I can bank on who are used to my ping-pong emotions (and have said hey you are human…if you were a robot may be you won’t have all that and would also be boring! πŸ™‚ ), who do give me the time of day if I needed a shoulder to cry on or hold my hand, just be there for me. It is difficult when life’s responsibilities take over and friendship does take a backseat many times but all of us acknowledge that we will be there in need. May not be able to take away the pain that one feels of an ailing child or loneliness – but be understanding. Thanks to all those friends who I don’t talk/chat with often but I do know they are there; have been for ages now.

I must also say that I am being really wary of new people thanks to my recent experiences. I do not want people who are weighing in whether they need to be friends. Sorry! stay away!!

 

24 thoughts on “Off Facebook

  1. FB is all about SELF…I did this…I did that..I went here…I achieved that but its also an amazing platform that updates me on what people are upto, which otherwise is a difficult proposition considering that people are buried in their own s**t πŸ˜€

    Since you are ‘Old Fashioned’, I suggest you buy a Blackberry πŸ˜€ their BBM is awesome and you can stay in touch with your REAL friends πŸ™‚

    1. LOL! I have an Apple iPhone πŸ™‚
      Guess am not so keen on keeping up with all those “friends” on my list with the status messages & I do find out what ppl who matter are up to, mailing them or catching them online πŸ™‚ or well just picking up the phone & giving them a call!

      1. Hmmmm…well all I can say is you are not alone πŸ˜€ my close cousins are also ‘anti-social’ πŸ˜› (If you allow me to use that word or else the diplomatic word would be ‘busy’ :D)

            1. Not really! I probably get hurt way more cos I don’t smell that fish early on!! 😦 Stupid me… learning though!! πŸ™‚

              1. Hmmm..good that you are learning πŸ™‚ on this topic, I remember a quote I read sometime ago…”Don’t give priority to a person for whom you are just an option” πŸ™‚ works well, if you follow it πŸ™‚

                    1. Here is some tit-bit on the origin…

                      In a Jewish wedding, after the bride has been given the ring, or at the end of the ceremony (depending on local custom), the groom breaks a glass, crushing it with his right foot, and the guests shout “Mazel tov!” (“Good luck”)

                      :)))

                    2. many version are explanations are there but the most common one is that it is done to mourn the destruction of the temple in Jerusalem πŸ™‚

  2. I can understand the off-facebook sentiment.. has occurred to me sometimes… I was specially annoyed when a friend told me “Oh! we had a baby girl last week.. dint u check the facebook profile?” I was like dhuh!! How am I supposed to check your profile if I am not on facebook or read every single status update! kinda annoying… but anyways… I totally think social sites are grossly overrated…

  3. Was going through my really old posts and decided to drop by.. FB is seriously bull…just good to keep in touch with acquaintances and not friends . I haven’t been regular on it for a long time..How are you and A ? take care.

Leave a Reply

