Am alive!!

Hopefully well I must add πŸ™‚ So is A. What got me out of my slumber?! Just missed writing here besides, I thought of penning down a recent experience of mine which of course involved A & a dear friend Aaarti.

Flash back πŸ˜€ Tuesday last we received a circular from the school that Aakash studies in asking for students between UKG and 3rd to register to be dressed as Lord Krishna for a programme by Aruna Sairam on Vijay TV (Krishna Jayanthi special) Krishna Jayanthi for non- Indian readers is the Hindu celebration of Lord Krishna’s birthday. The following Wednesday was another Hindu holiday. Since we thought the registrations would have filled up for the first 100, we did not bother to call the school up to register though A was very keen to be lil Krishna. Friday we thought why not just give a shot – called and were surprised that A was just Krishna #81!!!!!

Saturday: Aaarti, A & I went shopping to get the costume ready. There I get a brainwave; decide not to hire the costume but put things together and dress the guy up. While shopping, we kept in mind that whatever we buy, I must be able to use later and it should not end up to be a one time thing. Had fun blowing money πŸ˜€ Got the costume ready with the help of my mum too. A was pretty co-operative with every little thing we tried on him!

Sunday: Recording day!! We were asked to be at the auditorium at 2pm. We had been asked to get snacks for the kids and get them dressed up completely there. I took A there sharp at 2. The air-conditioner in the auditorium was not switched on. It was a typical hot day in Chennai. So, one can imagine how it would have been inside the auditorium!!! Took A out to the car, got him dressed there. Thank God that the auditorium was closer to the beach (sea breeze had set in, it was getting a wee bit cooler πŸ™‚ ) Aaarti joined me to help me get him dressed. We got in to the auditorium, in a while they switched on the A/C. I pitied every kid there, all made up, in uncomfortable clothes and sweating. Though they really did not seem to mind! We even found a couple of kids playing “stone, paper, scissors” in front of us πŸ˜€ That bit was a delight – watching all the kids around (Kids playing, crying, wanting to go pee after getting completely dressed up!!!, wanting to eat after putting on their make up.. ). Then it was utter chaos. No one really knew what was the plan of action. The sound checks kept going on. Suddenly there was an announcement to leave the kids in the middle rows. When I say announcement it was not on the PA system, it was just a random person who came and told us parents. So, there were some who were completely oblivious to the announcement. With lots of confusion, finally things settled down. The artist comes in with her band, does sound checks. Kids there totally restless. Aruna Sairam sang well, tried to get the kids involved telling them they were the show’s stars, making them dance & sing. The show had 4 songs sung by her & 2 with her and a few kids who had been trained. We also had constant announcements not to take photographs or video recordings. Of course, we all would take pictures of our Krishnas (Aaarti & I did before the programme started and the announcements were made – so I guess we are fine πŸ™‚ )

I found the whole thing highly disorganised. I would also blame the parents & other relatives of the kids around too. They kept approaching the kids now and then crowding around the area where they were seated which triggered multiple announcements from the “organisers” requesting the parents to not do so. Though I also understand that the kids would have been hungry/uncomfortable and needed to confer with their mums or dads. I suppose Vijay TV officials should have realised this and made this a bit more of a pleasant experience for all. The concept of the programme was good, hence the planning should have involved a bit more of consideration that it involves small children. Parents too must have been a wee bit more co-operative! Aaarti and I were joking saying we were such “bad” adults when it came to looking after A. I had just left him where he had to sit, told him I was going to be around. That was that. I did not bother to go enquire after etc…, So, may be I was a bad parent after all. πŸ™‚ I did get irritated at one point when the MC kept announcing the kids to be quiet, parents not to approach the kids etc., I went up and told her to realise how things are. She listened and told me…that she was just doing this as a hobby but will take the suggestions in a good manner!!! There was no one who we could actually approach and ask questions or talk to!! Recording was over and done with. The kids received a packet with mysurpa box from Krishna Sweets (a brand here), a few packs of biscuits/cookies. Announcements were made saying the programme will be relayed on 13 August but the time was not given. I must say that whether every kid’s face is relayed or not, each one of them was cute (some parents had even painted the kids blue or blue/black!! torture I say especially when I was so apprehensive of putting on even a light make up on A!!! ). The kids were definitely the stars πŸ˜€

I must really grant it to Vijay TV here. They must have gotten a really good TRP rating that day. I should say I was partly a contributing member. Word of mouth advertisement. Please see A on TV (he might come for a few seconds – one among 100s of kids! πŸ™‚ ) Aaah the vanity of motherhood!! The network ran teasers – my parents & of course I was very pleased to see a close up of A in the teaser!! πŸ˜€ All riled up to watch the show on 13th, I came back from work early. Switch on the television to find that the cablewala had cut power. All we could see were black and white dots with that crazy noise!! Calls flew past asking if anyone could record the programme for us. Alas, I must say I did not see the programme. Aaarti said that A did appear for a few seconds which made me write “A got his 2 secs out of his 15 minutes of fame!” as my status message.

I must say here that A, Aaarti, my parents & I had fun dressing A up as lil Krishna. I must also add that A milked every bit of appreciation from one and all (attention seeker that he is becoming!!! I must get wary of that πŸ™‚ ) I am still trying to find out if that programme is available on YouTube or anywhere else. I did read somewhere that the dressed up Krishnas were not given that much of a coverage on the programme.

Would I do something like this again!? Honest answer, I don’t know. I would think twice before registering him for such TV shows though. May be I am not being fair to the network, but I really feel they should have anticipated things, made better arrangements especially since the show involved so many kids.

Anyways after the “jetlag” of my long slumber, I guess am back with this post of a happening almost a week back πŸ™‚ . I don’t know though if I will post as regularly but will definitely try. Thanks to some of you who did enquire after me. That really made me feel good, felt like -hey even I am missed!!!

PS: Please do let me know if any of you have a recording of the show or can find out a link for me to just at least watch! Please!! Pretty please…with cherries on top!! πŸ˜€ If anyone one wants to see A in his costume (and already has not πŸ˜‰ ) please do mail me, will try mail you a pic πŸ˜€ As I said earlier, vanity of motherhood!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

11 thoughts on “Am alive!!

  1. The whole experience was new to me and i did enjoy it!!!

    Taken so many videos, will share them with u when we meet… !! some on my camera[ for wot the battery will last] and rest on phone [one video of Vittala song but audio dint get recorded… sadi paniduthu 😦 ]

    Total sadi!! Just our luck!!! Though yeah it was total fun dressing A up!!!

  2. They didnt allow us to shoot right…. Even in mobile they didnt allow… An unorganised programme exactly as u said.. we were really worried about the kidz.. One more thing is some songs were soooooo slow where the lil krishnas were so much impatient…The programme was nice as a whole but proper arrangements and preparations should have been made… Iam also trying for that video recording only… will inform you soon once i get it…

    Roja: Welcome here! I just put it down to experience. It is a platform to introduce the kids to our culture with Carnatic music being part of it. I must say that I appreciate the artist to try involve the kids, where she made them dance, or sing Vittala Vittala, repeat the chorus (unfortunately, kids probably did not know what β€œchorus” meant!”). Problem was the kids were too young to really grasp the whole concept. May be they must have chosen older kids if they wanted more participation. I did see a few kids actually singing the songs – don’t know which school they are from though. A had fun there which was what I aim to try. I totally understand why they asked us not to shoot. It is because of copyrights involved.
    Thank you in advance…please do mail me if u get the video.

  3. wow that is so cute.. πŸ™‚
    lil Krishnas.. all over..
    hey you should have posted this 3 days ago.. then i might have seen him.. though i wouldn’t have know it was him πŸ˜‰
    still…

    and very happy to see u back here… and wish to see more of you (your posts)….

    Sorry Oorja!! Just did not blog that is all. Woke up out of the slump! The lil Krishnas were really cute. Yeah it would make a difference if you had known it was A πŸ˜€ Hope I can get hold of the video somewhere!! πŸ™‚

  4. He came on TV and you didnt tell us????

    Glad you are back and I hope this time you ARE back ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Dear Vimmuuu, I hope am back too…no dramatics though unlike the attention seeker that you are πŸ™‚ Sorry!!! I must have at least shot a mail to all you guys -though RT says he came for just a few seconds. I did see a nice close up in the teaser ad that came up for the programme though πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! Pic! Pic! Pic! Send a pic! πŸ™‚
    Would’ve been so much fun! Am sure he looked totally krishna-like πŸ™‚

    Well, you have seen the pic now πŸ™‚

  6. lol πŸ™‚ how can you expect them to anticipate? Parents should know how to be disciplined(and they try to discipline their kids!!) πŸ™‚

    yeah right!!! When one plans a programme, one must anticipate everything!!!! πŸ™‚

  7. wow that is quite a come back story Apar. If you guys and A had fun, it is all worth it. I like to see your lil krishna pic..please mail.

    see you more often then?
    shy

    Hi Shy!! Sent the pic πŸ™‚ Don’t know if it will be often πŸ˜€ but will try!! πŸ˜€

  8. So glad you are alive! That’s the way we like you! πŸ˜‰ Great story here. How exciting that A got chosen. The disorganization is disappointing; perhaps they will learn from that and do better next time. It is always hard to make kids wait.
    Very creative of you to make the costume! I hope you get to see the TV, and I’ll add my vote to those wanting to see a pic of lil Krishna A! πŸ™‚ Also, thank you for explaining to us non-Indians. That was very kind.

    Hi Muse!! I hope it is really the way I am liked πŸ˜€ Sent you the pic of the lil brat all dressed up πŸ™‚ I doubt if these people learn from experience. It is usually that parents like us get deterred in participating dreading the experience!

  9. heyy how have u been? do blog regularly now!

    Hey Reema!! As I said, alive!!! Will try blog regularly though I am really trying to crib less so, don’t know how it will work out in effect! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment