Congrats!! :)

That goes to my best friend from school. Trust me when I say she has endured me for a looong looong time πŸ˜‰ She had a baby girl on 19th Sep. ( She missed having a libra and enduring one more in her life apart from her sis and me πŸ˜‰ ) I am so happy she had a girl. I am waiting for A and I to get rid of the cold we have before we go see the little angel πŸ™‚

Now that said and done; I was appauled by something that Y told me when we spoke after her delivery. She delivered in a premier hospital here. Her parents distributed sweets after hearing the news. Seems the nurses, mothers-to-be, their relatives said this ” Why are you distributing sweets for the news that your daughter had a girl?!?” Thank God, the docs did not say that! It would have beenΒ  more shocking.

Why? Why in this day and age this still exists? When I told my mother this…she said her parents never felt bad about not having a boy (my mom and aunt the only kids they had). More than that, my great-grandma was happy having 2 grand daughters off her first son. Guess that is the lineage I come from, so much so I was a tad disappointed that I had a boy (don’t take me wrong…I love A. He is the light of my life….still). I so wanted a girl.

I am not going to be optimistic and say things will change. There will always be people who say they want boys and only boys. All has been said and done about how wrong this is. It still does not stop me from being outraged when I hear such things that too from supposedly educated people (that too nurses?!?! Give me a break!) Though I have heard the comments the nurses have told women in labour which shocked me even more!! If these nurses are like this…why take up nursing? worse why in L&D?? I am thankful that my experience with giving birth was something wonderful. The nurses were excellent. They seemed to love their jobs and they acted as if each and every baby was theirs!! Hope this clan grows and every where in the world.

Wow…I just read my previous paragraph…I started saying I am not going to say things will change and ended up hoping!! Well, that is me!

11 thoughts on “Congrats!! :)

  1. very believable. Pressure to give birth to a son is very prominent even in the so called educated society Apar( although you have no control on the sex of the child). sad, but true..

    shy

  2. well, i want a girl of my own (natural or adopted, doesn’t really matter to me) more than i want a boy, frankly. i mean, i’ve already decided what her name would be! talk about counting my kids before my eggs hatch, huh? πŸ˜†

  3. It comes to no surprise that there are still certain people who run around like a daredevil stuntman in a cage. They are alone in their closed beliefs always. If the parents are happy with whatever child is born, thats what matters. Parents of the future showing equal love to their children being a boy or a girl is a key to the solution of this problem. Congratulations to your friend on the baby, It is going to be great for her.

  4. When my daughter was born and I was in a state of euphoria cum relief, having come out of labour alive and kicking[:) LOL] and was feeling like this was the proudest moment in my life, the most beautiful, most amazing miracle in the world was a little creature with surprise dimples and then the doctors and nurses had the cheek to tell me ‘First baby, no problem, you can try again…’. I was really shocked and angry then, but now I have realised that, it happens in educated classes the most.
    Linking this post to a post of mine describing a similar experience. Let me know if you mind.

  5. In F.R.I.E.N.D.S, Chandler makes a very valid statement, which is off topic here, but I can’t help but share:
    No one can compare the pain of childbirth and the pain of getting kicked in the balls, as no one can experience both…

    Cheers to your friend! Pass on my congrats to her! πŸ˜€

  6. I know this is a prevalent attitude in India; I think there is some of it everywhere, though. I’ve read that in China, where people are “strongly encouraged” to have only one child, that there is now an overabundance of boys; and that those boys will have trouble finding mates and starting families when they grow up. Amazing.

  7. muse, is that so (about having more chinese boys than girls)? well, an online buddy claims that there are more japanese girls than boys, maybe they can hook up? πŸ˜‰ though the language barrier might be a problem, haha.

    seems like the world is full of extremes – too much, too little, too many, too few…

    anyway, girls rock! i mean, look at the beauties india produces: gorgeous beauty queens, hot bollywood starlets… beauties with brains, mind you. πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment